I’m just going to blunt and say that I really have always had a problem with a major part of neopaganism but I’ve always ignored the niggling voice in the back of my mind because there was no alternative that I could see or figure out myself. The problem of the mother maiden crone triad is what I am referring to.

There are so many different things wrong or incomplete about this triad that I cannot easily find a place to begin.

As a woman who does not want children or at least doesn’t see them in her near future, the idea that all goddesses or women can be reduced to their ability to have children is both demeaning and patently  untrue.

Having a uterus does not guarantee that we want children(or vice versa) and not wanting children does not make any of us less of a woman. There are all kinds of women in the world and it would be really stupid of anyone to think that all of us can fit into any premade box. Gender roles are not cut and dry.

They are messy and need to be reconfigured almost daily on a personal basis. its almost like a lump of wet clay, out on display but constantly being fiddled with by the artists hands. Its always a work in progress, evolving  and beautiful.

I found an article recently that points to a tentative alternative for that neat little bit of Swiss cheese theology. It brought up some good points and was a good read. The book mentioned is available on amazon, I’m going to pickup a copy. take a look and let me know what you think, cheers!

 

alternative to maiden mother crone

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

